My inspiration 

Today I begin my journey as a JV. I am currently on my way to Logan airport, heading out for orientation. In about a week, I will begin my service at the Detroit Ctisto Rey High School, helping students train for their work study positions throughout the year (as well as staff workshops and meetings for new teachers and such). Part of me can’t believe I am going to start teaching, part of me feels like this is what I’ve been preparing to do for most of my life.

When I was younger, I didn’t want to follow in my parents footsteps and become a teacher; I wanted to become my own unique individual with a crazy career as a national geographic journalist or a Broadway star. I grew up helping in my m0ms elementary school classroom and watching my dad conduct hours of choir rehearsal. Sometimes these things where fun and entertaining, other times they were boring and tedious. It wasn’t until I got a little older (and dare I sa, a little wiser) to really appreciate these moments watching my parents do what they love. My mom clearly has a passion for teaching history and literature and I have never seen anyone more passionate about choral music than my father. 

The love that both my parents have for the subjects they teach makes them the types of teachers you want to listen to and you want to emulate in your own life.

So first and foremost, my parents have inspired me to work within the eduction system. They have taught my through words and action that education is of the utmost importance for making a difference within our society, our greater global community, and (most importantly) in the lives of every individual student.

I have also had many teachers throughout my life who have inspired me to be the best I can be and to live a compassionate, loving life. My third grade teacher, Mrs. Sandborn, ignited my love for writing and journaling. My fifth grade teacher, Mrs. Parker, helped my over come my shyness and at the same time embrace my quiet, introspective side. Both these amazing women taught me kindness and how to accept people as they are. 

In high school, I had a theology teacher who truly inspired my interest in the study of theology as well as an openness to my own faith. He helped me stick through my rough freshmen year of and because of this, I learned about the Jesuits and Ignatian spirituality. And here I am, starting my journey as a JV! 

These are just a few examples of the teachers who have inspired me and made a difference in my life. The truth is, all my teachers and professors have done this for me. So I would like to thank all my teachers and all those dedicated to the task of educating. I hope that I can take all I have learned from you and continue the work of inspiring and shaping the youth of our world. 

Wish me luck! 

Peace, 

Sarah 

Leave a Reply

